Sorrel Hill 7th July 1999

Report by Douglas Barry

The Nolan Blisters...

A glorious evening at the Wicklow hamlet of Lackan, with the light of a waning sun glancing off the limpid Blessington lakes, ensured that a healthy field of over 80 runners lined up for the 10th race in the Leinster League - Sorrel Hill. However, at the top end of the entry, a paucity of elite runners ensured that Crusaders international runner Paul Nolan looked certain to be a lonely figure at the front with just a record to chase.

But what a record he had to chase! John Lenihan set a stunning time of 36 minutes dead for the 10 kilometre course after a terrific battle with Wales's Hefin Griffiths. The occasion was the invitational international meeting some 12 years ago which featured a race on Sorrel Hill on the Saturday and Lugnaquilla on the Sunday. The following day, the Kerryman also won Lug in a record time. Unfortunately, the underfoot deterioration of the short ride that leads to Lugnagun due to felling some years ago has slowed the race and left Paul Nolan with more than a mountain to climb.

The route starts at the forest entrance at Corrig. The course follows the forest road initially, climbs up the aforementioned ride to emerge close to the shallow summit of Lugnagun. A gentle slope sweeps down over fast going open mountain, with the forest to the unner's right and views over the Dublin mountains to the left. The forest ends to reveal the lake on the right before the route gradually pulls to the base of the Sorrel Hill cone.

The sting is the 170 metres of gradually steepening climb which then leads to the summit of Sorrel Hill. The climb seems never-ending to the unfit - me for instance! - and the summit an elusive grail. However when you gain it, the views are definitely worth it. The panorama is stunning, but you have to get down again. Like most mountain races, the course retraces its steps and you have the bonus of seeing your opposition still struggling on the climb.

Paul Nolan cleared off into the distance closely pursued by Junior international Mark Doyle. After a time, Paul pulled further away. Reaching the summit, he stormed back on the descent to increase his lead further. He was only the 4th Irish runner to break 40 minutes for the course but was a little disappointed with his time of 39 minutes 13 seconds. He shouldn't be. The solo effort and the slightly slower route were against him.

Mark Doyle who slowed down on the return trip finished second some 5 minutes back. Eoin Keith gained vital league points on his rival Simon Walters by taking third. Claude McManmon held off Seamus Murphy to win the M40 class, while Ercus Stewart won the M50 category by nearly 5 minutes from Richard Flynn in a new record.

Laura McGinley (Raheny) had a great run to win the women's race in 50 minutes 10 seconds and clip 3 seconds off Una May's record set last year. Laura is not yet is the sort of shape that saw her win her international vest but still had an easy 4 minute victory over Mary O'Connell with Eileen Walsh further back in third. Marian Hughes won the F40 category with former multiple record holder Caitlin Bent winning the F50 class.

Pos Num Name Club Cat Time 1 298 Paul Nolan Crusaders 39.13 2 217 Mark Doyle Eagle M.R.C. M20 44.18 3 198 Eoin Keith 45.12 4 101 Simon Walters AIB 45.52 5 105 Declan Doyle 46.29 6 261 Alan Cox Crusaders 46.47 7 228 Fergus Brien 47.06 8 395 Shane Scadding 47.34 9 218 Finbarr Desmond 48.23 10 276 Cormac MacDonnchadha Ajax/ESB 49.17 11 121 David Simpson Rathfarnham M19 49.21 12 271 Laura McGinley Raheny F 50.10 13 224 Patrick Casey Crusaders 50.21 14 187 Vincent Blake AIB 50.33 15 151 Claude McManmon M40 50.44 16 364 Seamus Murphy M40 51.15 17 129 Kieran Crowley AIB 51.18 18 263 Peter McNamara DUO 51.34 19 161 Vivian O'Gorman M40 51.36 20 314 Alan Ayling GEN 51.40 21 392 Brian Keogh Outdoor Dynamics 51.43 22 330 Stephen Doyle 51.47 23 134 Thomas Galvin Glenasmole 52.03 24 216 Aidan Fitzpatrick 52.30 25 186 Ercus Stewart Glenasmole M50 52.33 26 106 Philip Brennan Setanta O.C 52.57 27 289 Mark Gomm Portmarnock 53.03 28 244 Dave Weston Setanta 53.06 29 136 Colin Burns Ajax 53.51 30 119 Justin Keatinge Ajax 54.05 31 122 Joe Lalor GEN M40 54.07 32 313 Mary O'Connell F 54.13 33 233 Nigel Creighton 54.30 34 299 Donough O'Keeffe BVOC 54.43 35 352 Marcus Geoghegan Ajax 54.49 36 183 Caimin Moloney 54.50 37 223 Brian Lambe TOCAC F19 54.55 38 242 Sean R Murphy Setanta 56.02 39 273 Eileen Walsh Donore Harriers F 56.08 40 256 Brendan Lawlor Office City 56.34 41 124 Richard Flynn SET M50 57.01 42 163 Tom Quinn M40 57.29 43 149 Eva Mulleady Crusaders F 57.38 44 394 Bruce Shenker M40 58.04 45 387 Christopher Kavanagh 58.13 46 179 Padraic Hamrock AIB 58.30 47 103 Gordon Douglas M40 58.33 48 229 John Fitzgerald M40 58.34 49 354 Suzanne Kennedy F 59.12 50 393 Martin S Byrne Outdoor Dynamics 59.14 51 346 Paul Marshall M40 59.20 52 311 Eddie O'Flynn Eircell 59.23 53 123 Joe McDonagh AIB 60.08 54 318 Peter Gorman AIB 60.58 55 324 Jimmy O'Brien Ajax M50 61.15 56 391 Eddie Harrison Portmarnock M40 61.25 57 156 Nina Philips Crusaders F 61.26 58 196 Sean Lambe M60 61.44 59 203 Marian Hughes DSD F40 61.56 60 363 Alan Daly 63.13 61 288 Kevin Smith 63.29 62 173 Brendan Doherty GEN M50 63.40 63 189 Niamh Fitzpatrick AIB F 63.44 64 390 Stephen Rowe Portmarnock M40 63.58 65 321 Melissa O'Halloran F 64.51 66 361 Sarah Cutler F 65.14 67 234 Maurice Mullins Loughrea M50 66.49 68 351 Derek Livingston 66.59 69 108 Fiona Callaghan AIB F 67.08 70 172 Alexis Fitzgerald 68.42 71 280 Caitlin Bent Setanta F50 68.48 72 396 Cathy Batch Crusaders F 68.57 73 281 Melanie Walsh F 72.10 74 143 James Higgins AIB 74.05 75 255 Willie O'Gorman Portmarnock M50 74.58 76 177 Ger Power 3ROC F40 79.20 77 358 Mike Gomm Portmarnock M60 96.10 **Short Course** 1 383 Andrew Caslin M10 18.57 2 384 James Caslin M12 18.57